Four States To Transition To ICD-10 Differently

Posted on Friday, September 11, 2015 2:30 PM

Four state Medicaid programs have been approved by CMS to delay transitioning to direct ICD-10 code processing by October 1. These states include California, Louisiana, Maryland, and Montana, which were all given an exemption from the deadline because their claims systems are unable to process the new ICD-10 codes without extra transition help. These states will instead use a “crosswalk” technique, which will allow them to convert claims using the ICD-10 system into ICD-9 codes to calculate payments. According to CMS, the crosswalk technique is not a long-term approach. Risks of technique include codes that don’t match up with similar concepts when converting codes from one set to another, and providers facing delayed or rejected claims due to cross-coding issues. Click here to read more.

About Corridor

Corridor is the nation’s preferred partner and trusted business advisor to home health and hospice providers, providing quality services and impactful results for 30 years. Focusing on key operational, regulatory and financial challenges, Corridor delivering industry-unique solutions and deep expertise in coding, clinical documentation review, compliance, billing and collections , consulting and provider staff education . At Corridor, we make the business of caring for people Better! For the most important industry updates and news that impacts home health and hospice, please make sure to sign up for our weekly newsletter to receive the latest up-to-date industry information direct to your inbox!

For additional information, please contact Corridor at 1-866-263-3795.

Go Back

Explore Corridor’s Solutions

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!